The Illusion of Starting Early.

As far as the sweater saga goes, I probably won’t be updating much about it until the last stretch. There’s not much point in sharing row after row of suckinette stitch, as I’ve already clearly run out of barely humorous ways to describe it. So until I get to the part where I pretend I know how to sew, we’ll move onto other things.

I’m already pretending like Christmas gifts are a priority in my life. The sad truth is I’m just trying to decrease the amount of yarn I have lying around for ~~~future projects~~ well THE FUTURE IS NOW AND HERE I AM. So I started making this rather pleasant scarf known as “The Dudester” and it’s going well. I’m really digging the various textures the pattern gives, and it yarn I’ve picked for it it really durable. A problem I’ve had with this is that said yarn is chunky instead of worsted, so I omitted the last repeat for rows 3 and 4 and cast on 36 sts instead – as suggested by the pattern creator in the comments section. It almost worked except that I was left with 6 sts instead of 3 at the end of the third row. So with some imagination (read: don’t panic, never let your yarn see you panic) I just made it slightly asymmetrical. Pictures will follow later on, I’m trying to get better lighting with dark grey yarn, and I want it to be longer as well.

I should also add that my favourite part of this was forgetting where I left off and becoming incredibly confused. Rather than yanking my needles out completely and having that terrifying row of 36 live stitches, I found a better (slightly saner) way of “frogging”. That’s also for another post coming soon! Plus PLUS that book review too!

So basically we’ve established that I have mentioned 3 actually interesting topic here but have failed to make better posts for them. At least I shared a pattern with you, at least you all have that now.

Give me a break, it’s standardized testing for my students and I have report cards and 50 weddings/wedding related events to go to. I’m happy I actually banged this thing out right now.

p.s. I’m thinking of starting the Beekeeper’s Quilt with all my leftover yarn. Huge endeavour, I know. It also would be the first pattern I’m paying for. I haven’t decided if I want the full puff effect, or to deal with flat hexagons. Anyone else doing this? Talk me though it, I know you’re out there fellow knitters/crocheters/bloggers.

2 thoughts on “The Illusion of Starting Early.

  1. I’m definitely planning on doing the Beekeeper’s Quilt sooner or later. However, right now I’ve only made one wonky scarf, one wonky hat, four decent hats, and a pair of baby booties that were half good/half eh. I’ll save the quilt for some time in the future. I am keeping my odds and ends of yarn though. Oh, and I’m working on my first paid work!

    • You’ve made some really cute stuff so far though! (I love looking at them on Instagram!) We should start the quilt together and cheer each other on 😛
      Also, what’s your first paid work, what are you making? So exciting!

Leave a Reply

